McGill Faculty of Law Centre for Legal Pluralism Echenberg Family Conference on Human Rights


Home

Global Conference on Democracy, Human Rights and the Fragility of Freedom

McGill University
Montreal, Canada
March 21st to 23rd, 2013


Welcome

The McGill Centre for Human Rights and Legal Pluralism is pleased to host the third Echenberg Family Conference on Human Rights.

The Conference will address key issues regarding democratic citizenship and the protection of fundamental rights and freedoms, including the violent repression of democracy, institutional safeguards, economic and social rights, the role of women and youth in struggles for democracy, freedom of expression and assembly, as well as the impact of transnationalism, globalization (including the rise of new media) and foreign policy on democracy. Speakers will engage with the complexities that arise both globally and locally in movements for democratic participation, and with different approaches to nurturing democratic institutions and engagement.

A Young Leaders conference will take place in conjunction with the Conference and will provide bright young activists from the around the world with an opportunity to engage with these issues, develop practical skills in advocacy and social change, and network with the Conference’s renowned speakers.

The goal of the Echenberg Family Conferences on Human Rights is to bridge the gap between the theory of human rights and the complex social, political and economic realities of a turbulent and interconnected world. By bringing together scholars, lawyers, judges, activists, students, and a wide range of stakeholders from civil society, we hope that the dialogue, engagement and education fostered through the conferences will have a concrete social impact, develop pragmatic and innovative approaches to human rights, and address some of the most poignant and pressing concerns of the human condition.

The Conference is made possible by the generous support of the Echenberg Family Foundation and is organized by the McGill Centre for Human Rights and Legal Pluralism, and the McGill University Faculty of Law.

We look forward to seeing you at the Conference in March!


Colleen Sheppard, Chair


Honourable Irwin Cotler, Honorary Co-Chair

Me Raymond Chrétien, Honorary Co-Chair

McGill Faculty of Law Centre for Legal Pluralism Echenberg Family Cinference on Human Rights


Accueil

Bienvenue

Le Centre sur les droits de la personne et le pluralisme juridique est fier d’accueillir la troisième conférence sur les droits de la personne de la Famille Echenberg. Cette conférence examinera des problématiques importantes concernant la citoyenneté démocratique et la protection des droits fondamentaux, incluant la répression violente des droits démocratiques, économiques et sociaux, le rôle des femmes et des jeunes dans la lutte pour la démocratie, la liberté d’expression et la liberté de réunion, ainsi que l’impact du trans-nationalisme, de la globalisation et de la politique étrangère sur la démocratie. En parallèle à cette conférence, une conférence de jeunes leaders permettra à des jeunes provenant du monde entier de se pencher sur ces problématiques, de développer des habiletés pratiques pour la défense et la promotion du changement social, ainsi qu’un réseau de contacts avec les participants renommés de la conférence principale.

L’objectif de ces conférences est de combler le vide entre la théorie des droits de la personne, et les réalités sociales, politiques et économiques complexes d’un monde turbulent et interconnecté. En rassemblant diverses personnalités reconnues, d’influents intellectuels, des avocats, des juges, des politiciens, des hommes d’affaires, des étudiants et d’autres leaders de divers pays et juridictions, la famille Echenberg et l’Université McGill espèrent que le dialogue, l’engagement et l’éducation encouragés par ces conférences aura un impact social concret, et aidera à développer des approches pragmatiques innovatrices par rapport aux droits de la personne, et à trouver des solutions à certains des problèmes les plus graves de la condition humaine.

La Conférence est rendue possible grâce au généreux soutien de la Fondation de la famille Echenberg et est organisée par le Centre sur les droits de la personne et le pluralisme juridique, et la Faculté de droit de l'Université McGill.

Nous nous réjouissons de vous voir à la Conférence en mars!